Valedictory Function

The Valedictory Function of the State LevelFloorball Tournament organised by the PU Board, Karnataka and DDPUE office, Mangalore in association with St Agnes Pre University College and DKPU College Principals’ Associationwas held in the auditorium at6.30 pm on October 6, 2019. Mr U.T. Khader, former minister and presently MLA, Mangalore Constituency was the guest of honour. Due to his busy schedule, he made it a point to address the teams in the morning and urged them to play with zeal, dedication and commitment and to accept winning and losing with fortitude and grace.

Mr Naveen Hegde, Physical Director, Jain PU College, was the master of ceremonies, while Sr Janet Sequeira, the Vice Principalwelcomed the gathering and introduced the luminaries on the dais. MrVasudev Kamath, acting DDPU, Mangalore was the Chief Guest. He commended the captains of both teams for their grit and sense of fair play. He told them not to rest on their laurels for the journey has just begun. Mr UmeshKarkera, President, DKPU College Principals’ Association,Mr Suchethan Jain, President, DK Physical Directors Association were the other distinguished guests.SrNorineDSouza, The Principal, Mr Premanath Shetty, DK Sports Coordinator, Mr Prijo John, General Secretary, Karnataka Floorball Association,Mrs Jayashree, Physical Director, Mr Ronald DSouza, PTA Vice President graced the occasion. The Physical Directors and Educationists of various colleges also attended the function.

Ten girls’ teams and ten boys’ teams competed in the tournament. The girl’steam fromDakshina Kannada won the First Place, while Runners Up trophy was secured by the team from Bangalore North. The boys’team, Bangalore North were the winners of the match, while by the team from Dakshina Kannada were the Runners. Mr Vasudev Kamath felicitated the victors and distributed the awards. The programme came to an end with the vote of thanks delivered by Dr Tressie Menezes.