Sports Day 2k22

If there is one field of life which teaches us the most valuable lessons about perseverance, patience in fact what constitutes a perfect character, it is Sports.

The Annual Sports Meet of St Agnes PU College was held on December 09, 2022 on the college grounds with great zeal, excitement and the spirit of sportsmanship. Mr BT Obaleshappa, Superintendent, District Prison, Mangaluru was the Chief Guest of the day. Sr Dr Lydia Fernandes A C - Joint Secretary, St Agnes Institutions, Sr Norine Dsouza A C - Principal, Sr Janet Sequeira A C - Vice Principal, MrsJayashree - Physical Director, MrAvinashKrishnakumar- PTA Joint Secretary, Corporal S Pyasi from 6 Karnataka Air Squadron NCC, Mr Matthew Antony – Convenor, Members of the PTA Executive Committee, teaching and support staff graced the occasion.

During the inaugural ceremony, Soujanya M, the sports secretary received the college flag from the Principal, SrNorineDSouza and led the ceremonial march past to the rhythmic beats played by the College Band led by ManasaManohar. The NCC Army-wing, Air-wing, Rifle marching and 20 teams from I and II PUC marched in harmony signifying unity, discipline and self-control. This splendid march past was judged by MrSubraya Kamath - Physical Director, Besant PU College, Mrs Wilma Dsouza - Physical Director, St Ann’s PU College and MrRajesh – Physical Education Teacher, Navachethana High School, Neermargaduring which the chief guest Mr BT Obaleshappareceived the salute of honour from the marching teams.

Mr. Ashwin, Lecturer in Electronics introduced Mr BT Obaleshappa, the Chief-Guest and welcomed the gathering thereafter, MrsJayashree introduced the marching teams to the esteemed guest after which the college flag was hoisted. Mr BT Obaleshappain his address motivated the students not to be a burden but to be anasset for the family and nation.

The ceremonial torch was lit and carried by theNational and State level Sports achievers of the College Shrika, Likshitha, Shaza, Shamya and Harshithaalong with Soujanya M, the Sports Secretary and then handed over the Olympic torch to Mr BT Obaleshappa after which he declared the Annual Sports Meet, 2022-23 of St Agnes PU College open.Sr Dr Lydia Fernandes and the other dignitaries released the balloons to mark the occasion. The teams entered into a spirit of true sportsmanship with the oath being administered by Soujanya M.

The inaugural programme was compered by Ayesha Zyma and Zuha Mariyam while RashaSalian proposed the vote of thanks.
Thereafter, the events of the day began and all the students actively participated in the sporting extravaganza with zeal and enthusiasm.

The closing ceremony was held in the evening. Nimra Patel welcomed the gathering. The winners of the various events were awarded by SrNorineDSouza, the Principal. II PCMC/E/S ‘D’ batch was awarded the Runners - Up Trophy and the overall championship was bagged by II PCMB ‘A’ Batch and also Individual Championship by MsNidhi M from II Integrated Batch. Principal congratulated the students for their wholehearted participation and advised them to play always to win and not to defeat the opponents. After the address the Annual Sports Meet was declared closed by the Principal. The college flag was then lowered respectfully and was handed over to the Principal. Fiona compered the valedictory programme andManviAnchan proposed the vote of thanks. The spectacular day came to a close with the rendering of the National Anthem.